Gumtree Scams

Have started selling my old stuff, mostly on EBAY…. but when things don’t sell, I go to www.gumtree.com. which is a great website for jobs, flats, houses, roommates and selling stuff.  This is a simple website where you meet people and exchange goods for cash.

However I have run into plenty of scams after only 1 day of my post being put up from people claiming they can’t make it and want to use paypal and get the object posted to them. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS!!!

MAKE SURE YOU EXCHANGE IN PERSON.

Here is what I have gotten so far, just to let everyone know, do NOT fall for this. I read about this here.

AND ALSO found this on the Guardian, a whole book about these scams, just HILARIOUS! READ HERE

example 1:

Rakia Humphrey <rakiahummphrey@gmail.com>

Re: Reply to your ad: FUJI FILM S7000 FINE PIX DIGITAL CAMERA

Mon, Oct 25, 2010 at 1:32 PM

Hello Thidaa ,
Thanks for your response on time.I have read the condition of the item and I am okay with the price of it as well.I wouldnt be able to meet you for collection because due to the nature of My job and moreover I am buying this item for My god-son who is studying abroad.Due to this,I have made inquiry from Royal Mail the postage cost of the item abroad and I was told £35.I will appreciate if you can help Me send the item directly to him.I have set up a PayPal account so I can pay you with.Kindly Request the payment to:rakiahummphrey@gmail.com
As soon as I receive the request I will get payment done.
Thanks.
Rakia.

example 2:

Kelly Handsome <kellysure1708@gmail.com>

Tue, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:20 AM

Re: Reply to your ad: Canon PowerShot SD780 IS 12.1 Megapixel Camera!

Hello Mate, 

Thanks for your response. I am satisfied with the condition and price of the item . I am buying this item for my business partner in abroad for his Project. I live in Tayside Region, Broughty Ferry,Manchester, I would have loved to meet you for a cash on collection, but due to the nature of my job, I would not be able to meet you for collection. I have enquired the postage cost to send this item abroad through Royal Mail Recorded delivery as their insurance and tracking is guaranteed and i was informed £25. Therefore, I humbly suggest you an electronic transfer from my paypal account which i feel is secure and safe. I will be expecting a Money Request sent to my verified PayPal account via sandralewis1922@gmail.com As soon as i receive, I will get payment done to you.
Thanks and sorry for the inconvenience this might cause you. God bless.
Sandra Lewis

I replied to this saying “I am actually going to Manchester this weekend so can easily meet up with you if you are REALLY interested.”
scammer replied:
“Am not available for pick up because am in a business trip with my company
Thanks and regard.”
—-
Another one:
Hello there,
Thank you for the fast reply.
I am willing to proceed with the transaction now and pay you £120
which include p&p.kindly login to your paypal account and select the
request money button located at the top of your paypal account
homepage and send the money request directly to my paypal account id
which is fionahales_1977@yahoo.co.uk so that i can submit payment to
you via paypal right now as paypal is safe, fast and easy to send and
receive money online. 

If you don’t have a paypal account just login to http://www.paypal.com and
set up your paypal account, after setting up your paypal account you
locate the request money button located at the top of your paypal
account home page, use it to request money directly from my paypal
account which is fionahales_1977@yahoo.co.uk once I receive your money
request from paypal, I will submit payment to you via paypal asap.

Get back asap.
Fiona Hales.

One thought on “Gumtree Scams

  1. yes a “Fiona Hales” neasrly got me and my Camcorder (plus the £25 to send it to Nigeria). For some reason I decided to serach for the email address maybe seeing if “she” was on FB. I found this site and was so shocked. This morning I got a “Paypal” warning saying I had entered into a legal contract and that the police might be called and legal action may ensue if I do not complete the transaction.

    These Nigerians are very resourceful. have to admit I thought it was a bit funny being sent to Nigeria. When i asked about delivering it in person, I had to laugh as I got the reply saying “she” was out of the country for 4 weeks as “she” works in a naval ship.

    Never knew anyone worked “in” a ship !!

    I have decided to send “her” a package. But not one that is expected. that way a receipt of sending will be given but they will get a suprise when they open the smaller package in Nigeria. I have informed Paypal and am also going to inform the Police here, but they are no doubt away of these guys.

    Towo can play at their games

Leave a comment